What to Budget for a Mystic Booth Tan
Plan on about $25–$40 for a regular session; solution choices, enhancements, products, taxes and processing fees can raise the total.
Plan on about $25–$40 for one regular Mystic Tan session. That is a salon-published planning estimate, not an official nationwide price or a statistically established national average. Your final bill may be higher if the salon charges separately for solution choices, enhancements, products, taxes, or processing fees.
The short answer: budget about $25–$40 for one session
The $25–$40 estimate appears in a salon-published Mystic Tan cost guide, but the guide does not provide a nationwide survey, sample size, or pricing methodology. Use the range to set an initial budget rather than treating it as a guaranteed local rate.
Actual provider menus show a wider spread. Escape Hair & Body Spa lists $15 for Light and $20 for Medium or Dark, while Tropical Touch Tanning and Haute Skin Spa each advertise a $39.95 single session. New Salon of Brookfield lists a $20 regular session and a limited-time $15 Monday promotion.
Location, shade or solution, optional enhancements, promotions, package terms, taxes, and fees can all affect what you pay. Before booking, ask the salon for the current all-in total for the exact session you want.
Mystic Tan price examples by purchase type
The prices below are provider advertisements or marketplace offers, not a universal Mystic Tan rate card. Several salon pages do not state when their menus or promotions were last updated.
| Provider and market | Purchase type | Advertised and effective price | Important conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Escape Hair & Body Spa, Danville, Illinois | Single session | Light: $15; Medium or Dark: $20 | Local salon menu; no explicit price-update date |
| New Salon of Brookfield, Brookfield, Wisconsin | Single session or Monday promotion | Regular: $20; Monday: $15 per tan | Monday price is marked limited-time; one solution is included |
| Tropical Touch Tanning, market not stated | Single session or unlimited plan | Single: $39.95; unlimited from $79.95 per month | “From” price; full unlimited-plan conditions are not published |
| Haute Skin Spa, market not stated | Single, four-tan offer, or membership | Single: $39.95; four-tan offer: about $29.96 each; membership: as low as about $17.49 each | Taxes and processing fees excluded; membership has a three-month minimum |
| Groupon May 2026 sample, 11 U.S. cities | Discounted automated-booth deals | $9–$26 per session; Chicago Mystic example: $15.50 for one or $26.50 for three, about $8.83 each | Marketplace discounts rather than standard retail rates; offers rotate |
The Groupon sample covered 135 active deals across 11 cities in May 2026. Its $9–$26 automated-booth range included both Mystic and VersaSpa offers, so it should not be read as a Mystic-only national price range. The Chicago offer was one temporary listing, not a rate available from every Mystic Tan provider.
Availability matters as much as the advertised price. An undated Napa Valley page, for example, displays a 10-tan package for $100 but marks it unavailable. An unusually low package price is not useful unless the provider confirms that it can still be purchased and explains any restrictions.
Calculate the all-in price, not just the booth fee
Use this formula when comparing quotes:
Base session price + solution or shade upgrades + enhancers + optional products + taxes and processing fees + membership dues or copays = all-in cost
Start by finding out what the base rate includes. New Salon of Brookfield says one Mystic solution comes with each session, but that is one provider’s policy—not a rule that applies to every salon.
Brookfield’s menu also shows how customization can change the total. It lists scents at $2, bronzers at $3 or $5, and an accelerator at $6. At those advertised rates, a $20 session with a $5 bronzer and a $2 scent would cost $27 before any applicable tax.
A salon-published cost guide estimates enhancers more broadly at about $5–$15 each. That is only an approximate provider estimate; it is not based on a documented independent market survey. Local prices may be lower or higher, and a salon may bundle an enhancement into the session instead of charging for it separately.
Haute Skin Spa expressly states that its advertised prices exclude taxes and processing fees. It offers balancer, booster, bronzer, and scent options without listing individual prices, so a customized appointment may cost more than its $39.95 base rate.
Preparation and aftercare products can also appear at checkout. A provider may offer items such as an applicator mitt or skincare product, but the pricing evidence does not establish that these products are required to complete a Mystic session. Ask whether each suggested item is optional before agreeing to the final charge.
For the cleanest comparison, request an itemized quote containing:
- The booth session
- The included solution or shade
- Every selected enhancement
- Required membership dues or copays
- Taxes and processing fees
- Any optional retail products
That prevents a lower headline price from looking cheaper than a more inclusive quote.
When a package or membership costs less
Compare plans by the cost per tan you will realistically use, not the lowest theoretical rate printed on the sales page. A four-visit allowance has little value if you normally visit only once.
Haute Skin Spa’s published prices provide a useful break-even example. Its single session costs $39.95, while its $69.95 monthly membership includes up to four sprays and requires a three-month minimum contract.
| Monthly use | Paying for single sessions | $69.95 membership | Effective membership cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 tan | $39.95 | $69.95 | $69.95 per tan |
| 2 tans | $79.90 | $69.95 | About $34.98 per tan |
| 4 tans | $159.80 | $69.95 | About $17.49 per tan |
At one visit, the $39.95 single-session price is lower than the membership charge. At two visits, two singles total $79.90, so the $69.95 membership headline price is lower and works out to about $34.98 per used tan. At four visits, the effective membership price falls to about $17.49 per tan.
Those calculations exclude taxes and processing fees. The three-month minimum also means the minimum advertised commitment is $209.85 before those additional charges. If you miss visits or use fewer than four sprays in a month, your effective cost per completed tan rises.
Haute’s buy-three-get-one-free offer provides a lower-commitment alternative. Three sessions at $39.95 cost $119.85. If you use the free fourth session, the effective price is approximately $29.96 per tan.
Tropical Touch advertises unlimited Mystic Tan service starting at $79.95 per month. Its public page does not provide enough conditions to calculate a dependable break-even point, however. Confirm any visit limits, contract length, enrollment charges, renewal rules, and per-visit fees before comparing it with single sessions.
New Salon of Brookfield advertises longer plans with a $5 copay for each visit. Use this calculation for that type of arrangement:
(Plan price + total copays + other fees) ÷ completed visits = effective cost per tan
Include the commitment period and the number of visits you will actually make. Brookfield’s page displays conflicting totals for its four- and 10-session packages, so verify the current package price rather than relying on either published figure.
A package or membership usually makes financial sense only when all three conditions are true:
- You will use enough sessions to lower the effective price.
- The plan’s commitment and expiration rules fit your schedule.
- Taxes, processing fees, copays, and add-ons do not erase the apparent savings.
How Mystic booth pricing compares with custom airbrush tanning
Mystic is an automated booth service. A custom airbrush tan is applied by a technician, so the service format and pricing structure differ.
In the cited May 2026 Groupon sample, discounted automated-booth sessions ranged from $9 to $26, while discounted custom airbrush sessions ranged from $25 to $60. The dataset covered 135 active marketplace deals across 11 U.S. cities rather than every salon or full-price appointment.
That bounded comparison suggests automated-booth deals can occupy a lower price range within a discount marketplace. It does not prove that every Mystic Tan costs less than every technician-applied tan. A full-price booth visit at one salon could still cost more than a custom-airbrush promotion elsewhere.
The practical decision is between the price and speed of an automated booth and the individualized application of a technician-applied service. Compare local quotes on equal terms: regular price versus regular price, or promotion versus promotion. Also check what each quote includes before deciding which service offers better value for you.
Questions to ask before you book
A short call or careful review of the booking page can expose costs that are not obvious from the headline price. Ask:
- Is this the regular rate or a temporary promotion?
- Which Mystic solution or shade is included?
- Do Light, Medium, and Dark cost the same?
- Are bronzer, accelerator, scent, balancer, or booster upgrades extra?
- How much does each selected add-on cost?
- Are taxes and processing fees included in the displayed price?
- Is there an enrollment charge or annual membership fee?
- Does the plan require a copay for every visit?
- How many full sessions does the package include?
- What is the effective price per completed session?
- Do prepaid sessions expire?
- Are unused sessions refundable or transferable?
- Does the membership have a minimum term or monthly visit limit?
- What are the cancellation and automatic-renewal rules?
- Does an “unlimited” plan still impose copays or other restrictions?
- What is the final all-in charge for the exact session you want?
Get the answers directly from your chosen provider before paying. Online menus may be undated, promotions can expire, package figures can conflict, and marketplace offers can disappear.
Do Light, Medium, and Dark Mystic Tan shades cost the same?
Not always. Escape Hair & Body Spa lists Light at $15 and Medium or Dark at $20. New Salon of Brookfield, by contrast, advertises its limited-time $15 Monday price for any solution and says one solution is included with each session.
Ask whether your preferred shade is part of the base rate. One provider may charge the same amount for every solution, while another may use different prices or classify certain formulas as upgrades.
For an occasional visit, compare the final single-session total. If you plan to tan repeatedly, calculate the package or membership cost using only the visits you realistically expect to complete, then confirm every tax, fee, copay, and contract term with the salon before buying.