Airbrush Index

How to Maintain Your Color Without Buying Into the Hype

Explains when a leave-on lotion moisturizes, adds gradual DHA or erythrulose color, provides instant tint or combines those functions—and what to check.

Dana Frost

A spray tan extender is usually a leave-on lotion, moisturizer, or body butter—not another spray. Depending on the formula, it may moisturize fading skin, add new gradual color with DHA or erythrulose, provide immediate cosmetic color, or combine those functions.

Choose by tanning agents, instant-bronzer status, face-or-body labeling, fragrance disclosure, directions, and price. Current product pages do not establish a universal “best” extender or a reliable number of extra tan days.

What a spray tan extender actually does

The word “spray” generally describes the original spray tan, not the aftercare product. Extenders commonly come as lotions, although moisturizing sprays and body butters are also sold.

The formulas fall into four practical groups:

  1. Hydration without a stated tanning agent. This may make dry, fading color look smoother, but it should not be assumed to create new color.
  2. Gradual color from DHA. A self-tanning formula adds color while the original spray tan fades.
  3. Developing color from DHA plus erythrulose. Both create color over time rather than an immediate makeup effect.
  4. Immediate color from an instant bronzer. This provides visible tint when applied. It is separate from any color that develops later.

The FDA describes dihydroxyacetone, or DHA, as a color additive that darkens skin by reacting with amino acids at the skin’s surface. It distinguishes this developing color from temporary bronzers, which behave more like makeup and wash away over time. FDA guidance explains how sunless tanners and bronzers differ.

A DHA-based extender therefore does not merely preserve the color created during your salon appointment. It adds new sunless color as the original result fades.

This explains why bronzer-free does not mean colorless. A clear, bronzer-free lotion can still contain DHA. Conversely, a moisturizer marketed as an extender may not disclose enough ingredient information to establish whether it creates additional color.

The word extender also does not prove that a product preserves the original tan better than an ordinary moisturizer. Seller pages associate moisturization with smoother-looking fading, but the available evidence does not include a controlled comparison between dedicated extenders and standard moisturizers.

Comparison table: five documented tan extenders

The specifications and prices below come from official seller pages and were displayed on September 12, 2026. Prices, sizes, and availability can change. Calculated unit prices exclude shipping, subscriptions, discounts, and application yield.

Product Tanning formula, bronzer, and labeled area Scent or fragrance disclosure Size, price, timing, and seller longevity claim
Aviva Skin Glow Light Tanning agents: unclear because a complete ingredient list is not supplied. Instant bronzer: no; described as clear. Area: face and body. Fragrance: not stated. Size: 8 oz. Price: $10.50; about $1.31/oz. Water wait: 5 hours. Claim: up to 3 extra days. Aviva product page
Tanceuticals Everyday Tan Extender Tanning agents: DHA. Instant bronzer: not stated. Area: facial suitability not established. Fresh coconut scent; ingredient list includes fragrance and methylisothiazolinone. Size: 8 oz. Price: $22.95; about $2.87/oz. Water or sweat wait: 7–8 hours. Claim: approximately 7–8 days of extension. Tanceuticals product page
Sjolie Tan Extend Tanning agents: 2% DHA; no erythrulose. Instant bronzer: no. Area: face and body. The page says both “No Added Fragrance” and pineapple fragrance; disclosure is inconsistent. Size: 8 fl oz. Price: $24; $3.00/oz. Dressing wait: 5 minutes. Water wait: 8 hours. Claim: total wear of up to 10 days. Sjolie product page
Norvell Prolong Tanning agents: DHA. Instant bronzer: not stated. Area: body-focused; a separate face product is sold. Midnight Pomegranate scent; ingredients include fragrance, named fragrance allergens, and salicylic acid. Size: 8.5 fl oz. Price: $31; about $3.65/oz. Water wait: at least 8 hours. Manufacturer posts recommend starting 2–3 days after a spray tan; daily use is suggested for darker color and every other day for lighter color. Norvell product page
Palm Beach Tan Spray Your Way Tanning agents: DHA and erythrulose. Instant bronzer: yes. Area: facial suitability not established. Fragrance with orange peel, bergamot, amber, vanilla, and tonka notes; witch hazel is also disclosed. Size and price: not supplied, so no unit price can be calculated. Use: daily; blend completely and wash hands. Water wait: not stated. Palm Beach Tan product page

These products are not interchangeable. Aviva has the lowest listed unit price, but its tanning mechanism is unclear. Sjolie provides a stated DHA concentration and face-and-body labeling. Norvell supplies adjustable-frequency guidance.

Format is not a shortcut to performance. Marketplace results include moisturizing sprays, body butters, and lotions, but search position, ratings, review counts, and recent-purchase indicators do not establish effectiveness.

Choose by function, not the word “extender”

Begin with the result you want rather than the category printed on the bottle.

For hydration without more developing color: Look for a complete ingredient list that omits both DHA and erythrulose. Do not assume that a product is free of tanning agents merely because it is called a moisturizer, described as clear, or labeled bronzer-free.

For subtle gradual color: Choose a formula that clearly discloses DHA. A stated low concentration, such as Sjolie’s 2%, provides more information than a vague promise of “a touch of glow.” Start with the least frequent application permitted by the label and assess the result before adding another layer.

For immediate color: Look for an instant bronzer. It provides visible tint on application, but that tint is different from color that develops from DHA or erythrulose. Check the package for transfer precautions. Bronzer-free labeling does not prove that a developing lotion cannot mark fabric.

For facial use: Choose a product explicitly labeled for the face. Do not assume a body formula belongs near the eyes or is appropriate for sensitive or acne-prone facial skin. Among the products compared above, Aviva and Sjolie state face-and-body use. Norvell positions Prolong for the body and sells a separate facial product. The other pages do not establish facial suitability.

For a lower price: Compare price per ounce as a preliminary shopping measure. It cannot reveal cost per application because the listings do not provide standardized full-body application amounts. Nor can it establish value without verified evidence about longevity, transfer, or the number of applications in each container.

Marketing labels require similar restraint. Terms such as natural, clean, vegan, cruelty-free, hypoallergenic, and botanical may describe formulation or sourcing choices, but they do not independently prove effectiveness or tolerability. Vitamins, caffeine, antioxidants, and plant extracts are not evidence that an extender preserves color longer.

A higher price, favorable ratings, large review count, or prominent marketplace position does not close that evidence gap.

A practical application routine that reduces uneven buildup

Follow both your spray-tan provider’s rinse schedule and the extender label. There is no universal first-use time: some products direct daily application without specifying a post-tan delay, while Norvell’s manufacturer posts recommend starting Prolong two to three days after the original spray tan, as documented in the table.

Once both schedules permit application:

  1. Start with clean, completely dry skin.
  2. Apply a thin, even layer. Treat this as cautious practical guidance rather than a rule that more product always creates a better result.
  3. Blend methodically. Cover the sides of the torso, backs of the legs, and transitions around wrists and ankles.
  4. Use less on hands and feet. Feather the product over fingers, toes, and the edges of treated skin.
  5. Apply sparingly to knuckles, knees, elbows, and ankles. The documented Sjolie and Norvell directions specifically call for reduced application on these areas.
  6. Wash your palms and between your fingers immediately. Also check the sides of your hands and the skin around your nails.
  7. Keep the area dry for the product-specific development period. Depending on the documented formula, that may mean avoiding a shower, swimming, heavy sweating, or other water exposure.

Do not copy one brand’s timing onto another. The documented labels range from five to eight hours before water exposure, while Palm Beach Tan does not state an interval. If the product page is silent, check the package or contact the seller.

Dressing time is a separate instruction from shower time. Sjolie supplies both intervals in the table, but the other pages do not establish a universal waiting period before dressing. Let the lotion dry as directed and avoid clothing that rubs heavily against freshly treated skin.

Frequency can also affect buildup. Norvell’s daily-versus-every-other-day schedule is one brand-specific example, not a standard for every DHA lotion.

If your hands, knees, elbows, or ankles begin looking noticeably darker, reduce the frequency or stop applying the product to those areas instead of adding another layer. This is cautious practical guidance, not a clinically tested correction method. Never apply a body-only extender to your face unless its label permits facial use.

Sensitive-skin and ingredient checks

For reactive skin, ingredient transparency is more useful than reassuring front-label language. Before buying, check for:

  • a complete ingredient list;
  • added fragrance and named fragrance allergens;
  • DHA, erythrulose, and any instant bronzer;
  • explicit face-versus-body labeling;
  • drying and development instructions; and
  • directions for handwashing and water avoidance.

Some documented ingredients may matter if you have reacted to cosmetics before. Tanceuticals lists fragrance and methylisothiazolinone. Norvell lists salicylic acid, fragrance, and named fragrance components. Palm Beach Tan discloses fragrance and witch hazel. Their presence does not make a formula universally unsuitable, but it gives you concrete information to compare with previous reactions.

Sjolie requires extra checking if fragrance concerns you. Its page uses both “No Added Fragrance” and pineapple-fragrance language. Confirm the current package disclosure with the seller rather than treating it as definitively fragrance-free.

A cautious patch check involves applying a small amount to a limited area according to the complete label directions, including the development and rinse schedule. Commercial sensitive-skin guidance recommends waiting 24 hours before wider use, although a successful small-area check cannot guarantee full-body tolerance. Glo Tanning describes this 24-hour approach.

Do not treat “all skin types,” “hypoallergenic,” “clean,” or similar language as a substitute for reviewing the ingredients. Stop using the product if a significant reaction develops; the cause cannot be diagnosed from marketing descriptions alone.

How many extra days should you expect?

There is no reliable, independently established number of additional days to expect from a spray tan extender.

The quantified seller claims shown in the table are not directly comparable. Aviva describes extra days, Tanceuticals describes days of extension, and Sjolie refers to total wear. None of those pages supplies controlled independent testing, measured color data, sample sizes, or a standard comparison with ordinary moisturizer.

That visual improvement is not proof that the original salon-applied DHA color remained longer. A DHA extender complicates the question further because it creates new color while the original tan is fading.

A meaningful performance ranking would require:

  • the same original spray-tan formula;
  • standardized extender amounts;
  • controlled showering, activity, and skincare;
  • measured color over time;
  • transfer testing; and
  • comparisons with both an ordinary moisturizer and an untreated control.

Without those data, formula, tanning agents, face-or-body labeling, fragrance disclosure, price, and application schedule can be compared with reasonable confidence. Effectiveness, cost per full-body application, and additional days of wear cannot.

DHA safety and the sunscreen rule

A spray tan or spray tan extender does not protect against sunburn or other UV harm unless it contains sunscreen ingredients and is specifically labeled with an SPF.

FDA requires suntanning preparations without sunscreen to carry a warning that they do not protect against sunburn. The covered category includes topical products that create the appearance of a tan with approved color additives such as DHA. FDA explains the required warning and its scope.

DHA is permitted as a color additive for external application, but that does not mean FDA has approved the finished extender. Avoid applying DHA products to the lips, eye area, or mucous membranes, and follow the labeled area of use.

Exposure route also matters. FDA’s concerns about inhalation and unintended contact with the eyes or mucous membranes are particularly relevant to spray booths and aerosolized DHA. A leave-on lotion applied by hand does not create the same inhalation route when used as directed.

Choose an extender by the job it performs: hydration without more developing color, gradual DHA color, or immediate bronzing combined with developing color. Verify the ingredients and face-or-body label, follow the product-specific start and rinse schedule, use less over dry areas, and wash your hands. For UV protection, use a separately labeled sunscreen rather than relying on the appearance of a tan.